Warenkorb
 

Holding Up the Universe

A New York Times Bestseller

From the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone-and love someone-for who they truly are.

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed "America's Fattest Teen." But no one's taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom's death, she's been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby's ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything.

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he's got swagger, but he's also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can't recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He's the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything in new and bad-ass ways, but he can't understand what's going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don't get too close to anyone.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game-which lands them in group counseling and community service-Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. . . . Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are-and seeing them right back.

"Niven is adept at creating characters. . . . [Libby's] courage and body-positivity make for a joyful reading experience." --The New York Times

"Holding Up the Universe . . . taps into the universal need to be understood. To be wanted. And that's what makes it such a remarkable read." -TeenVogue.com, "Why New Book Holding Up the Universe Is the Next The Fault in Our Stars"

"Want a love story that will give you all the feels? . . . You'll seriously melt!" -Seventeen Magazine
Rezension
★ "[Niven] creates two indelible characters and a heart-stopping romance." -Publishers Weekly starred review

★ "Written in short chapters of alternating perspectives, this is a thoughtful exploration of identity and self-acceptance, with commentary on overcoming adversities that will hit close to home." -School Library Journal starred review

★ "This is a worthy addition to any young adult collection; the story is engaging and difficult to put down." -VOYA starred review

"Niven's honest writing shares a story of friendship, confidence, strength, and identity-and it's not one to be missed." -Buzzfeed.com

"Libby and Jack are two characters who will reach out of the page and climb into your heart! . . . [A] beautiful love story." -Justine Magazine

"A novel about love and how important it is to be seen." -Popsugar.com

"Moving. . . . The true heart of the tale lies in personal growth and learning to love yourself." -Bookish.com

"I've never fallen in love with characters as fast as I fell for Libby and Jack. . . . Holding Up the Universe is a beautiful reminder of the power of understanding." -Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why

"Gorgeously written and oh-so-deeply felt, Holding Up the Universe contains one of my favorite characters of all time! You will absolutely fall in love with Libby Strout!" -Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

"At once hilarious and achingly poignant, Jennifer Niven's Holding up the Universe brims with love and heart and hope. A gorgeous, life-affirming book that-like its lovable and resilient main character, Libby-will make you want to open your arms wide, lift your face to the sky, and twirl." -Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

Praise for All the Bright Places:

"[A] heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids." -Entertainment Weekly

"A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe." -Justine Magazine

"At the heart-a big one-of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." -The New York Times Book Review
Portrait
Jennifer Niven is the author of the
New York Times and international bestseller
All the Bright Places. She has also written four novels for adults—
American Blonde, Becoming Clementine, Velva Jean Learns to Fly, and
Velva Jean Learns to Drive—as well as three nonfiction books—
The Ice Master, Ada Blackjack, and
The Aqua Net Diaries, a memoir about her high school experiences. She grew up in Indiana and now lives with her fiancé and literary cats in Los Angeles. For more information, visit JenniferNiven.com, GermMagazine.com, or find her on Facebook or Twitter.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Libby

    If a genie popped out of my bedside lamp, I would wish for these three things: my mom to be alive, nothing bad or sad to ever happen again, and to be a member of the Martin Van Buren High School Damsels, the best drill team in the tristate area.

    But what if the Damsels don't want you?

    It is 3:38 a.m., and the time of night when my mind starts running around all wild and out of control, like my cat, George, when he was a kitten. All of a sudden, there goes my brain, climbing the curtains. There it is, swinging from the bookshelf. There it is, with its paw in the fish tank and its head underwater.

    I lie on my bed, staring up into the dark, and my mind bounces across the room.

    What if you get trapped again? What if they have to knock down the cafeteria door or the bathroom wall to get you out? What if your dad gets married and then he dies and you're left with the new wife and stepsiblings? What if you die? What if there is no heaven and you never see your mom again?

    I tell myself to sleep.

    I close my eyes and lie very still.

    Very still.

    For minutes.

    I make my mind lie there with me and tell it, Sleep, sleep, sleep.

    What if you get to school and realize that things are different and kids are different, and no matter how much you try, you will never be able to catch up to them?

    I open my eyes.

    My name is Libby Strout. You've probably heard of me. You've probably watched the video of me being rescued from my own house. At last count, 6,345,981 people have watched it, so there's a good chance you're one of them. Three years ago, I was America's Fattest Teen. I weighed 653 pounds at my heaviest, which means I was approximately 500 pounds overweight. I haven't always been fat. The short version of the story is that my mom died and I got fat, but somehow I'm still here. This is in no way my father's fault.

    Two months after I was rescued, we moved to a different neighbor-hood on the other side of town. These days I can leave the house on my own. I've lost 302 pounds. The size of two entire people. I have around 190 left to go, and I'm fine with that. I like who I am. For one thing, I can run now. And ride in the car. And buy clothes at the mall instead of special-ordering them. And I can twirl. Aside from no longer being afraid of organ failure, that may be the best thing about now versus then.

    Tomorrow is my first day of school since fifth grade. My new title will be high school junior, which, let's face it, sounds a lot better than America's Fattest Teen. But it's hard to be anything but TERRIFIED OUT OF MY SKULL.

    I wait for the panic attack to come.

    Jack

    Caroline Lushamp calls before my alarm goes off, but I let her go to voice mail. I know whatever it is, it's not going to be good and it will be my fault.

    She calls three times but only leaves one message. I almost delete it without listening, but what if her car broke down and she's in trouble? This is, after all, the girl I've dated off and on for the past four years. (We're that couple. That on-again, off-again everyone-assumes-we'll-end-up-together-forever couple.)

    Jack, it's me. I know we're taking a break or whatever but she's my cousin. My COUSIN. I mean, MY COUSIN, JACK! If you wanted to get back at me for breaking up with you, then congratulations, jerkwad, you've done it. If you see me in class today or in the hallways or in the cafeteria or ANYWHERE ELSE ON EARTH, do not talk to me. Actually, just do me a favor and go to hell.

    Three minutes later, the cousin calls, and at first I think she's crying, but then you can hear Caroline in the background, and the cousin starts yelling and Caroline starts yelling. I delete the message.

    Two minutes later, Dave Kaminski sends a text to warn me that Reed Young wants to kick my face in for making out with his girlfriend. I text, I owe you. And I mean it. If I'm keeping score, Kam's helped me out more times than I've helped him
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 416
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17
Erscheinungsdatum 01.05.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-385-75595-5
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20.8/13.9/2.7 cm
Gewicht 344 g
Verkaufsrang 8660
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 14.90
Fr. 14.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
13 Bewertungen
Übersicht
11
2
0
0
0

Be yourself and love yourself
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 09.10.2018
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

After reading "All the bright places" I knew that I had to read this one as well. And I don´t deny it! I finished the book in two days, because I couldn´t put it down. The characters are well-written and I liked the chapters being short (making it a really fast read) and switching between the two protagonists. Libby kind of grew... After reading "All the bright places" I knew that I had to read this one as well. And I don´t deny it! I finished the book in two days, because I couldn´t put it down. The characters are well-written and I liked the chapters being short (making it a really fast read) and switching between the two protagonists. Libby kind of grew on me because she was so powerful even when she felt down and stood up for herself (and didn´t need anyone else to proof her worth). This book isn´t as dark as "all the bright places" but it points out some difficulties we have in our society and are still not ready to overcome. Jennifer Niven knows how to write about problems and difficulties and she is good at it. Her books have depth which means that while reading the story you are thinking about it as well. I would not just recommend her books but herself as an author!

Holding up the universe - you won't be able to stop.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Winterthur am 19.12.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

What a great book from Jennifer Niven, I've read it within one day! Libby's and Jack's story is one you won't forget so fast and gets you thinking about your own reactions to stuff like that.

Holding up the universe
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Chemnitz am 18.12.2017
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Ich habe das Buch an meine Nichte ( 17 Jahre) verschenkt, sie war begeistert von der Story. Einfache Bestellung und schnelle Lieferung!