Warenkorb
 

Dresden Files 08. Proven Guilty

A Novel of the Dresden Files

Wizard for hire Harry Dresden has to track down the things that go bump in the night in this novel in Jim Butcher's no.1 New York Times bestselling series.

There's no love lost between Harry Dresden, the only wizard in the Chicago phone book, and the White Council of Wizards, who find him brash and undisciplined. But war with the vampires has thinned their ranks, so the Council has drafted Harry as a Warden and assigned him to look into rumors of black magic in the Windy City.

As Harry adjusts to his new role, another problem arrives in the form of the tattooed and pierced daughter of an old friend-all grown up and already in trouble. Her boyfriend is the only suspect in what looks like a supernatural assault straight out of a horror film. Malevolent entities that feed on fear are loose in Chicago, but it's all in a day's work for a wizard, his faithful dog, and a talking skull named Bob...
Rezension
Praise for the Dresden Files

"Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe."-Entertainment Weekly

"Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series."-Midwest Book Review

"Superlative."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves."-Cinescape

"Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot."-Booklist (starred review)

"What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves."-SF Site

"A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner."-Library Journal

"What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files]."-The Washington Times
Portrait
A martial arts enthusiast whose résumé includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives mostly inside his own head so that he can write down the conversation of his imaginary friends, but his head can generally be found in Independence, Missouri. Jim is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera novels, and the Cinder Spires series, which began with The Aeronaut's Windlass.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • One
    Blood leaves no stain on a Warden's grey cloak.

    I didn't know that until the day I watched Morgan, second in command of the White Council's Wardens, lift his sword over the kneeling form of a young man guilty of the practice of black magic. The boy, sixteen years old at the most, screamed and ranted in Korean underneath his black hood, his mouth spilling hatred and rage, convinced by his youth and power of his own immortality. He never knew it when the blade came down.

    Which I guess was a small mercy. Microscopic, really.

    His blood flew in a scarlet arc. I wasn't ten feet away. I felt hot droplets strike one cheek, and more blood covered the left side of the cloak in blotches of angry red. The head fell to the ground, and I saw the cloth over it moving, as if the boy's mouth were still screaming imprecations.

    The body fell onto its side. One calf muscle twitched spasmodically and then stopped. After maybe five seconds, the head did too.
    Morgan stood over the still form for a moment, the bright silver sword of the White Council of Wizards' justice in his hands. Besides him and me, there were a dozen Wardens present, and two members of the Senior Council-the Merlin and my one-time mentor, Ebenezar McCoy.

    The covered head stopped its feeble movements. Morgan glanced up at the Merlin and nodded once. The Merlin returned the nod. "May he find peace."

    "Peace," the Wardens all replied together.

    Except me. I turned my back on them, and made it two steps away before I threw up on the warehouse floor.

    I stood there shaking for a moment, until I was sure I was finished, then straightened slowly. I felt a presence draw near me and looked up to see Ebenezar standing there.

    He was an old man, bald but for wisps of white hair, short, stocky, his face half covered in a ferocious-looking grey beard. His nose and cheeks and bald scalp were all ruddy, except for a recent, purplish scar on his pate. Though he was centuries old he carried himself with vibrant energy, and his eyes were alert and pensive behind gold-rimmed spectacles. He wore the formal black robes of a meeting of the Council, along with the deep purple stole of a member of the Senior Council.

    "Harry," he said quietly. "You all right?"

    "After that?" I snarled, loudly enough to make sure everyone there heard me. "No one in this damned building should be all right."
    I felt a sudden tension in the air behind me.

    "No they shouldn't," Ebenezar said. I saw him look back at the other wizards there, his jaw setting stubbornly.

    The Merlin came over to us, also in his formal robes and stole. He looked like a wizard should look-tall, long white hair, long white beard, piercing blue eyes, his face seamed with age and wisdom.
    Well. With age, anyway.

    "Warden Dresden," he said. He had the sonorous voice of a trained speaker, and spoke English with a high-class British accent. "If you had some evidence that you felt would prove the boy's innocence, you should have presented it during the trial."

    "I didn't have anything like that, and you know it," I replied.

    "He was proven guilty," the Merlin said. "I soulgazed him myself. I examined more than two dozen mortals whose minds he had altered. Three of them might eventually recover their sanity. He forced four others to commit suicide, and had hidden nine corpses from the local authorities, as well. And every one of them was a blood relation." The Merlin stepped toward me, and the air in the room suddenly felt hot. His eyes flashed with azure anger and his voice rumbled with deep, unyielding power. "The powers he had used had already broken his mind. We did what was necessary."

    I turned and faced the Merlin. I didn't push out my jaw and try to stare him down. I didn't put anything belligerent or challenging into my posture. I didn't show any anger on my face, or slur any disrespect into my tone when I spoke. The past several months had taught me that the Merlin hadn't gotten his job through an a
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 489
Erscheinungsdatum 01.02.2007
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-451-46103-2
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 19/10.8/3.5 cm
Gewicht 304 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 14.90
Fr. 14.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertungen
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

Harry Dresden, Bob der Shädel und mouse der hund
von Sagi aus Wien am 31.08.2007

Das Werk hat schon einen erstaunlichen anfang, und ist dann auch durchgehend spannend. Alleine die charaktere sind schon genial genug um das buch zu lesen. Die dialoge sind einfallsreich wie auch Dresden selbst. Fantasy und Detektiv roman in einem.