Warenkorb
 

Profitieren Sie im Juli von 5-fach Meilen auf Bücher & eBooks!*

Dresden Files 11. Turn Coat

A novel of the Dresden Files

Jim Butcher's breakthrough #1 New York Times bestseller starring Chicago's only professional wizard, Harry Dresden.

When it comes to the magical ruling body known as the White Council, Harry is thought of as either a black sheep or a sacrificial lamb. And none hold him in more disdain than Morgan, a veteran Warden with a grudge against anyone who bends the rules. But now, Morgan is in trouble. He's been accused of cold-blooded murder-a crime with only one, final punishment.

He's on the run, wanting his name cleared, and he needs someone with a knack for backing the underdog. So it's up to Harry to uncover a traitor within the Council, keep Morgan under wraps, and avoid coming under scrutiny himself. And a single mistake may cost someone his head.

Someone like Harry...
Rezension
Praise for the Dresden Files

"Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe."-Entertainment Weekly

"Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series."-Midwest Book Review

"Superlative."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves."-Cinescape

"Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot."-Booklist (starred review)

"What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves."-SF Site

"A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner."-Library Journal

"What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files]."-The Washington Times
Portrait
A martial arts enthusiast whose résumé includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives mostly inside his own head so that he can write down the conversation of his imaginary friends, but his head can generally be found in Independence, Missouri. Jim is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera novels, and the Cinder Spires series, which began with The Aeronaut's Windlass.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Chapter One

    The summer sun was busy broiling the asphalt from Chicago's streets, the agony in my head had kept me horizontal for half a day, and some idiot was pounding on my apartment door.

    I answered it and Morgan, half his face covered in blood, gasped, "The Wardens are coming. Hide me. Please."

    His eyes rolled back into his skull and he collapsed.

    Oh.

    Super.

    Up until that moment, I'd been laboring under the misapprehension that the splitting pain in my skull would be the worst thing to happen to me today.

    "Hell's frickin' bells!" I blurted at Morgan's unconscious form. "You have got to be kidding me!" I was really, really tempted to slam the door and leave him lying there in a heap. He sure as hell deserved it.

    I couldn't just stand there doing nothing, though.

    "You need to get your head examined," I muttered to myself. Then I deactivated my wards-the magical security system I've got laid over my apartment-grabbed Morgan under the arms, and hauled him inside. He was a big man, over six feet, with plenty of muscle-and he was completely limp. I had a hard time moving him, even though I'm no junior petite myself.

    I shut the door behind me and brought my wards back up. Then I waved a hand at my apartment in general, focused my will, and muttered, "Flickum bicus." A dozen candles spaced around the room flickered to life as I pronounced the simple spell, and I knelt beside the unconscious Morgan, examining him for injuries.

    He had half a dozen nasty cuts, oozing and ugly and probably painful, but not life-threatening. The flesh on his ribs, beneath his left arm, was blistered and burned, and his plain white shirt had been scorched away. He also had a deep wound in one leg that was clumsily wrapped in what looked like a kitchen apron. I didn't dare unwrap the thing. It could start the bleeding again, and my medical skills are nothing I'd want to bet a life on.

    Even Morgan's life.

    He needed a doctor.

    Unfortunately, if the Wardens of the White Council were pursuing him, they probably knew he was wounded. They would, therefore, be watching hospitals. If I took him to one of the local emergency rooms, the Council would know about it within hours.

    So I called a friend.

    Waldo Butters studied Morgan's injuries in silence for a few moments, while I hovered. He was a wiry little guy, and his black hair stood up helter-skelter, like the fur of a frightened cat. He wore green hospital scrubs and sneakers, and his hands were swift and nimble. He had dark and very intelligent eyes behind black wire-rimmed spectacles, and looked like he hadn't slept in two weeks.

    "I'm not a doctor," Butters said.

    We'd done this dance several times. "You are the Mighty Butters," I said. "You can do anything."

    "I'm a medical examiner. I cut up corpses."

    "If it helps, think of this as a preventative autopsy."

    Butters gave me an even look and said, "Can't take him to the hospital, huh?"

    "Yeah."

    Butters shook his head. "Isn't this the guy who tried to kill you that one Halloween?"

    "And a few other times before that," I said.

    He opened a medical kit and started rummaging through it. "I was never really clear on why."

    I shrugged. "When I was a kid, I killed a man with magic. I was captured by the Wardens and tried by the White Council."

    "I guess you got off."

    I shook my head. "But they figured that since I was just trying to survive the guy killing me with magic, maybe I deserved a break. Suspended sentence, sort of. Morgan was my probation officer."

    "Probation?" Butters asked.

    "If I screwed up again, he was supposed to chop my head off. He followed me around looking for a good excuse to do it."

    Butters blinked up at me, surprised.

    "I spent the first several years of my adult life looking over my shoulder, worrying about this guy. Getting hounded and harassed by him. I had nightmares for a while, and he was in them." Truth be told, I still had nightmares occasionally, abou
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 576
Erscheinungsdatum 01.03.2010
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-451-46281-7
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 19/10.8/3.8 cm
Gewicht 316 g
Verkaufsrang 1540
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 14.90
Fr. 14.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.