Meine Filiale

Holding Up the Universe

Jennifer Niven

(15)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 19.90
Fr. 19.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab Fr. 14.90

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

ab Fr. 19.90

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

Fr. 7.50

Accordion öffnen

Hörbuch (CD)

Fr. 55.90

Accordion öffnen
  • Holding Up the Universe

    CD (2016)

    Versandfertig innert 4 - 7 Werktagen

    Fr. 55.90

    CD (2016)

Beschreibung

From the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone - and love someone - for who they truly are.

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed 'America's Fattest Teen'. But no one's taken the time to look past her weight to get to see who she really is. Since her mum's death, she's been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby's ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER. I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything.

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin too. Yes, he's got swagger, but he's also mastered the art of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a secret: he can't recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He's the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can't understand what's going on with the inner workings of his own brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don't get too close to anyone.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game which lands them in group counseling, Libby and Jack are both angry, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world - theirs and yours.

Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are - and seeing them right back.
Praise for All the Bright Places:

'If you're looking for the next The Fault in Our Stars - this is it' Guardian

'[A] heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids' Entertainment Weekly

'A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe' Justine Magazine

'At the heart - a big one - of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers' The New York Times Book Review

Jennifer Niven is the author of the
New York Times and international bestsellers
All the Bright Places and
Holding Up the Universe. Her books have been translated into 75 languages and have won literary awards around the world. She grew up in Indiana and now divides her time between Georgia and Los Angeles. Find her at jenniferniven.com and on social.

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 423
Altersempfehlung 12 - 18
Erscheinungsdatum 06.10.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-14-135705-8
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 19.5/12.6/3 cm
Gewicht 304 g
Verkaufsrang 6553

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
15 Bewertungen
Übersicht
12
2
1
0
0

von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 23.06.2020
Bewertet: anderes Format

Characters you like from the get-go and a story that touches your heart. Niven has written a beautiful story about two teenagers who still need to find themselves in a chaotic world while each still faces problems of their own.This is a coming-of-age book that swallows you whole!

OK
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 08.04.2020
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

Es lässt sich gut lesen und man kann sich seine Zeit damit vertreiben. Aber mehr als das nun auch wieder nicht...

Be yourself and love yourself
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 09.10.2018
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

After reading "All the bright places" I knew that I had to read this one as well. And I don´t deny it! I finished the book in two days, because I couldn´t put it down. The characters are well-written and I liked the chapters being short (making it a really fast read) and switching between the two protagonists. Libby kind of grew... After reading "All the bright places" I knew that I had to read this one as well. And I don´t deny it! I finished the book in two days, because I couldn´t put it down. The characters are well-written and I liked the chapters being short (making it a really fast read) and switching between the two protagonists. Libby kind of grew on me because she was so powerful even when she felt down and stood up for herself (and didn´t need anyone else to proof her worth). This book isn´t as dark as "all the bright places" but it points out some difficulties we have in our society and are still not ready to overcome. Jennifer Niven knows how to write about problems and difficulties and she is good at it. Her books have depth which means that while reading the story you are thinking about it as well. I would not just recommend her books but herself as an author!

  • Artikelbild-0