Warenkorb
 

Girl Before The

A Novel

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Woman in Cabin 10, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

The request seems odd, even intrusive-and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.

EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant-and it does.

JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space-and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.

Praise for The Girl Before

"Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning-a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."-Lee Child

"The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."-The New York Times

"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."-Vanity Fair

"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."-American Booksellers Association

"This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017. We may only be a few weeks into 2017, but we're calling it early: This year, The Girl Before will be that book. The upcoming novel by author J. P. Delaney has all of the makings of a sexy murder mystery that is sure to hit the bestseller chart, and it already has the movie deal to prove it."-InStyle

"Delaney has created a genuinely eerie, fascinating setting in One Folgate Street. . . . The novel's structure, volleying back and forth as first Emma and then Jane begin to question their improbable luck, is beautifully handled. The pages fly."-USA Today

"The house has a dark past and a landlord that's anything but welcoming."-New York Post, one of the must-read books of the week

"The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels."-The Washington Post

"The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it."-Joseph Finder
Rezension
"Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning-a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."-Lee Child

"The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."-The New York Times

"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."-Vanity Fair

"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."-American Booksellers Association

"This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017. We may only be a few weeks into 2017, but we're calling it early: This year, The Girl Before will be that book. The upcoming novel by author J. P. Delaney has all of the makings of a sexy murder mystery that is sure to hit the bestseller chart, and it already has the movie deal to prove it."-InStyle

"Delaney has created a genuinely eerie, fascinating setting in One Folgate Street. . . . The novel's structure, volleying back and forth as first Emma and then Jane begin to question their improbable luck, is beautifully handled. The pages fly."-USA Today

"The house has a dark past and a landlord that's anything but welcoming."-New York Post, one of the must-read books of the week

"The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels."-The Washington Post

"The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it."-Joseph Finder

"Get hooked on this hair-raiser about a woman who scores what seems like her dream home . . . until she finds out the mysterious fate of the previous tenant."-Cosmopolitan

"One of the best thrillers you'll read in 2017. . . . The Girl Before will appeal greatly to fans of psychological suspense."-New York Journal of Books

"Riveting! One of the most compelling page-turners I've read in years. Twisty, turny, and with an ending not to be missed!"-Lisa Gardner

"Riveting . . . Writing with precision and grace, Delaney strips away the characters' secrets until the raw truth of each is revealed."-Publishers Weekly

"Superior psychological suspense . . . a cleverly constructed thriller."-The Bookseller

"A masterfully crafted spellbinder . . . guaranteed to astonish."-Booklist (starred review)
Portrait
The Girl Before is the first psychological thriller from JP Delaney, a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written bestselling fiction under other names. It is being published in thirty-five countries. A film version is being brought to the screen by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • 1. Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.

    Then: Emma

    It's a lovely little flat, the agent says with what could almost pass for genuine enthusiasm. Close to the amenities. And there's that private bit of roof. That could become a sun terrace, subject of course to the landlord's consent.

    Nice, Simon agrees, trying not to catch my eye. I'd known the flat was no good as soon as I walked in and saw that six-foot stretch of roof below one of the windows. Si knows it too but he doesn't want to tell the agent, or at least not so soon it'll seem rude. He might even hope that if I listen to the man's stupid patter long enough I'll waver. The agent's Simon's kind of guy: sharp, brash, eager. He probably reads the magazine Simon works for. They were exchanging sports chat before we even got up the stairs.

    And here you have a decent-sized bedroom, the agent's saying. With ample-

    It's no good, I interrupt, cutting short the charade. It's not right for us.

    The agent raises his eyebrows. You can't be too choosy in this market, he says. This'll be gone by tonight. Five viewings today, and it's not even on our website yet.

    It's not secure enough, I say flatly. Shall we go?

    There are locks on all the windows, he points out, plus a Chubb on the door. Of course, you could install a burglar alarm, if security's a particular concern. I don't think the landlord would have any objection.

    He's talking across me now, to Simon. Particular concern. He might as well have said, Oh, is the girlfriend a bit of a drama queen?

    I'll wait outside, I say, turning to leave.

    Realizing he's blundered, the agent adds, If it's the area that's the problem, perhaps you should have a look farther west.

    We already have, Simon says. It's all out of our budget. Apart from the ones the size of a tea bag.

    He's trying to keep the frustration out of his voice, but the fact that he needs to riles me even more.

    There's a one-bedroom in Queen's Park, the agent says. A bit grotty, but . . .

    We looked at it, Simon says. In the end we felt it was just a bit too close to that estate. His tone makes it clear that we means "she."

    Or there's a third-floor just come on in Kilburn-

    That too. There was a drainpipe next to one of the windows.

    The agent looks puzzled.

    Someone could have climbed it, Simon explains.

    Right. Well, the rental season's only just started. Perhaps if you wait a bit.

    The agent has clearly decided we're time-wasters: He too is sidling toward the door. I go and stand outside, on the landing, so he won't come near me.

    We've already given notice on our old place, I hear Simon say. We're running out of options. He lowers his voice. Look, mate, we were burgled. Five weeks ago. Two men broke in and threatened Emma with a knife. You can see why she'd be a bit jumpy.

    Oh, the agent says. Shit. If someone did that to my girlfriend I don't know what I'd do. Look, this might be a long shot, but . . . His voice trails off.

    Yes? Simon says.

    Has anyone at the office mentioned One Folgate Street to you?

    I don't think so. Has it just come on?

    Not exactly, no.

    The agent seems unsure whether to pursue this or not.

    But it's available? Simon persists.

    Technically, yes, the agent says. And it's a fantastic property. Absolutely fantastic. In a different league from this. But the landlord's . . . to say he's particular would be putting it mildly.

    What area? Simon asks.

    Hampstead, the agent says. Well, more like Hendon. But it's really quiet.

    Em? Simon calls.

    I go back inside. We might as well take a look, I say. We're halfway there now.

    The agent nods. I'll stop by the office, he says, see if I can locate the details. It's been a while since I showed anyone around, actually. It's n
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 352
Erscheinungsdatum 06.01.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-425-28504-6
Verlag Random House US
Maße (L/B/H) 24.4/16.1/3.5 cm
Gewicht 559 g
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Fr. 36.90
Fr. 36.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen Versandkostenfrei
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
2
0
0
0
0

A gripping novel, which reminded me of The Girl on the Train...
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 10.06.2017

There was a girl. You resemble her quite a bit, actually, physically. Now she's dead. She died over there, at the bottom of those stairs. In the very house you're living in right now. But don't ye worry. You're safe, Jane*. *side note: She wasn't. Not at all.

This is it - the next Girl!
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 23.02.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

Gone Girl was followed by Girl on the Train...and a huge wave of other Girls, but none had such an original setting, clever constructed plot and surprising twist as Delayne's Girl Before! Good Girl!