Warenkorb
 

The Sun Is Also a Star

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton! The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Finalist from the bestselling author of Everything, Everything will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other.

Natasha: I'm a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I'm definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won't be my story.

Daniel: I've always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents' high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store-for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

The #1 New York Times Bestseller
A National Book Award Finalist
A 2017 Michael L. Printz Honor Book
A New York Times Notable Book
A BuzzFeed Best YA Book of the Year
A POPSUGAR Best Book of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Editor's Choice
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens
Recipient of the John Steptoe New Talent Award
A Walter Award Honor Book

"Beautifully crafted."--People Magazine

"A book that is very much about the many factors that affect falling in love, as much as it is about the very act itself . . . fans of Yoon's first novel, Everything Everything, will find much to love-if not, more-in what is easily an even stronger follow up." -Entertainment Weekly

"Transcends the limits of YA as a human story about falling in love and seeking out our futures." -POPSUGAR.com

Rezension
★ "An exhilarating, hopeful novel exploring identity, family, the love of science and the science of love, dark matter and interconnectedness--is about seeing and being seen and the possibility of love... and it shines." -Shelf Awareness, starred review

★ "Moving and suspenseful." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "Lyrical and sweeping, full of hope, heartbreak, fate. . . and the universal beating of the human heart." -Booklist, starred review

★ "Fresh and compelling." -The Horn Book, starred review

★ "With appeal to cynics and romantics alike, this profound exploration of life and love tempers harsh realities with the beauty of hope in a way that is both deeply moving and satisfying."-Kirkus, starred review

★ "A love story that is smart without being cynical, heartwarming without being cloying, and schmaltzy in all the best ways."-The Bulletin, starred review

"This wistful love story will be adored by fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park."-SLJ

Praise for Everything, Everything:

"[A] fresh, moving debut." -Entertainment Weekly

"Gorgeous and lyrical." -The New York Times Book Review

"Will give you butterflies." -Seventeen

"A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone)." -Justine

"YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here."-MTV.com
Portrait

NICOLA YOON is the author of the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Sun Is Also a Star and Everything, Everything, her debut novel, which was turned into a major motion picture. She grew up in Jamaica and Brooklyn and lives in Los Angeles with her family. She’s also a hopeless romantic who firmly believes that you can fall in love in an instant and that it can last forever.

Follow @NicolaYoon on Tumblr, Twitter, and Instagram.

… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Artikelbild-1
  • prologue

    CARL SAGAN SAID that if you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe. When he says "from scratch," he means from nothing. He means from a time before the world even existed. If you want to make an apple pie from nothing at all, you have to start with the Big Bang and expanding universes, neutrons, ions, atoms, black holes, suns, moons, ocean tides, the Milky Way, Earth, evolution, dinosaurs, extinction-level events, platypuses, Homo erectus, Cro-Magnon man, etc. You have to start at the beginning. You must invent fire. You need water and fertile soil and seeds. You need cows and people to milk them and more people to churn that milk into butter. You need wheat and sugar cane and apple trees. You need chemistry and biology. For a really good apple pie, you need the arts. For an apple pie that can last for generations, you need the printing press and the Industrial Revolution and maybe even a poem.

    To make a thing as simple as an apple pie, you have to create the whole wide world.

    daniel

    Local Teen Accepts Destiny, Agrees to Become Doctor, Stereotype

    It's Charlie's fault that my summer (and now fall) has been one absurd headline after another. Charles Jae Won Bae, aka Charlie, my older brother, firstborn son of a firstborn son, surprised my parents (and all their friends, and the entire gossiping Korean community of Flushing, New York) by getting kicked out of Harvard University (Best School, my mother said, when his acceptance letter arrived). Now he's been kicked out of Best School, and all summer my mom frowns and doesn't quite believe and doesn't quite understand.

    Why you grades so bad? They kick you out? Why they kick you out? Why not make you stay and study more?

    My dad says, Not kick out. Require to withdraw. Not the same as kick out.

    Charlie grumbles: It's just temporary, only for two semesters.

    Under this unholy barrage of my parents' confusion and shame and disappointment, even I almost feel bad for Charlie. Almost.

    natasha

    MY MOM SAYS IT'S TIME for me to give up now, and that what I'm doing is futile. She's upset, so her accent is thicker than usual, and every statement is a question.

    "You no think is time for you to give up now, Tasha? You no think that what you doing is futile?"

    She draws out the first syllable of futile for a second too long. My dad doesn't say anything. He's mute with anger or impotence. I'm never sure which. His frown is so deep and so complete that it's hard to imagine his face with another expression. If this were even just a few months ago, I'd be sad to see him like this, but now I don't really care. He's the reason we're all in this mess.

    Peter, my nine-year-old brother, is the only one of us happy with this turn of events. Right now, he's packing his suitcase and playing "No Woman, No Cry" by Bob Marley. "Old- school packing music," he called it.

    Despite the fact that he was born here in America, Peter says he wants to live in Jamaica. He's always been pretty shy and has a hard time making friends. I think he imagines that Jamaica will be a paradise and that, somehow, things will be better for him there.

    The four of us are in the living room of our one-bedroom apartment. The living room doubles as a bedroom, and Peter and I share it. It has two small sofa beds that we pull out at night, and a bright blue curtain down the middle for privacy. Right now the curtain is pulled aside so you can see both our halves at once.

    It's pretty easy to guess which one of us wants to leave and which wants to stay. My side still looks lived-in. My books are on my small IKEA shelf. My favorite picture of me and my best friend, Bev, is still sitting on my desk. We're wearing safety goggles and sexy-po
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 384
Altersempfehlung 12 - 15
Erscheinungsdatum 01.11.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-5247-1630-1
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20.8/13.9/3.5 cm
Gewicht 395 g
Verkaufsrang 27553
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 17.90
Fr. 17.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
6 Bewertungen
Übersicht
5
1
0
0
0

von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 04.08.2019
Bewertet: anderes Format

Eine sehr süße Geschichte. Besonders Natasha hat einen starken Eindruck bei mir hinterlassen. Nur das Ende fand ich etwas verworren.

Ein Tag kann viele Leben ändern
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 18.09.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

Ein wundervolles Buch! Ein einziger Tag im Leben von Natasha und Daniel lässt eine große Liebe entflammen, rettet Leben, beendet Beziehungen und lässt neue Familien entstehen. Doch kann dieser Tag auch das Leben der beiden zum positiven wenden? Denn Daniel soll zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch, zu dem ihn seine Eltern zwingen und N... Ein wundervolles Buch! Ein einziger Tag im Leben von Natasha und Daniel lässt eine große Liebe entflammen, rettet Leben, beendet Beziehungen und lässt neue Familien entstehen. Doch kann dieser Tag auch das Leben der beiden zum positiven wenden? Denn Daniel soll zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch, zu dem ihn seine Eltern zwingen und Natasha und ihre Familie stehen kurz vor der Abschiebung. Dieses Buch muss jeder lesen, denn es schafft es perfekt Physik und Poesie miteinander zu vereinen.

Ein Must-Have für jeden YA-Fan
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Stephanskirchen am 07.09.2017
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Mir gefiel das Buch sehr gut. Der Schreibstil ist locker und leicht zu lesen, die Charaktere muss man einfach lieben, das Buch spielt mit verschiedenen Mitteln, um das Phänomen des Zufalls näherzubringen, und beschäftigt sich gleichzeitig mit wichtigen Themen (Rassismus, Einwanderer,...). Bis auf wenige, kleine Details habe ic... Mir gefiel das Buch sehr gut. Der Schreibstil ist locker und leicht zu lesen, die Charaktere muss man einfach lieben, das Buch spielt mit verschiedenen Mitteln, um das Phänomen des Zufalls näherzubringen, und beschäftigt sich gleichzeitig mit wichtigen Themen (Rassismus, Einwanderer,...). Bis auf wenige, kleine Details habe ich an The Sun Is Also A Star rein gar nichts auszusetzen und empfehle es jedem weiter, der gerne YA liest, aber trotzdem nach einer tieferen Ebene sucht und nicht unbedingt ein klassisches Ende braucht.