Warenkorb
 

Something in the Water

The Gripping Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick!

*** THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND REESE WITHERSPOON BOOKCLUB 2018 PICK! ***

The perfect couple.

The perfect crime? 

 

‘Deftly paced, elegantly chilly thriller… Steadman brings similar qualities of wit, timing and intelligence to this novel… a proper page-turner’ New York Times

 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough;
Mark a handsome investment banker with a bright future. They seem to have it all. But do they?

On a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, Mark takes Erin scuba diving. Everything is perfect. Until they find something in the water. Something that will change their lives forever. 

Erin and Mark decide to keep their discovery a secret. No one else need know; they trust each other implicitly.

 

But someone else does know. And in situations like these, it is far better to trust no one, not even those closest to you … 

Set to be the blockbuster read of the summer, this is an unmissable, fast-paced, jaw-dropping thriller from a debut writer destined for great things.

 

‘A wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!’ Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

 ‘Worthy of Hitchcock’ 
Sunday Times

 

‘Pure adrenaline: I swallowed this book whole’ 
Erin Kelly, author of  He Said, She Said

 

‘A thriller for our times’ 
Louise Candlish, author of  Our House

 

‘A stunning debut. Superbly written, clever and gripping’ 
BA Paris, author of  Behind Closed Doors

 

‘A fascinating moral dilemma’ 
Gillian McAllister, author of  Everything but the Truth

 

‘It was the relatability of Erin's voice that set it apart from so many other thrillers as it automatically got me thinking ‘What would I do in her position?’ 
Caz Frear, author of  Sweet Little Lies

 

‘This debut’s opening hook, which jumps ahead in the story to reveal a shocking outcome, teamed with Erin’s spunk and the threat of Russian mobsters, creates irresistible suspense—of both the what-will-happen and the how-did-that-happen varieties’ 
Booklist 

‘A delicious page-turner’ 
New York Post

‘Catherine Steadman bursts onto the thriller scene with this exceptional debut psychological thriller, written in the vein of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn... Deftly plotted and told with lightning-quick pacing... 
Something in the Water is psychological suspense at its absolute finest, and Steadman has all the makings of a writer poised to shoot straight to the top of the genre' 
Book Spy

‘I loved this. It was so addictive… What follows is a twisty adventure that is a whole lot of fun and does actually beg the question ‘what would YOU do?’ Highly recommended' 
Liz Loves Books

'A terrific debut’ 
Criminal Element

‘Bombshell thriller… Drawing you in from the very first sentence ... and becomes a nice twist on the typical psychological thriller’ 
Book Tribe 

‘If you like thrillers with a huge twist and great plot this is for you’ 
Fiction Obsession

‘Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel’ 
 Dwell in Possibility

'A taut, relentless read. Written in the early stages to the beat of a steady drum, once the ‘something’ in the water appears, it sets off a chain of events that build to a Bourne-like intensity, delivering a shocking discovery at the very end' 
Better Reading AU

‘A
 sumptuous read, packed with numerous cinematic scenes and a plot that will make your head spin. It is brilliantly written' 
Year of Reading Selfishly Blog
Portrait
Steadman, Catherine
Catherine Steadman is an actress and writer based in North London. She is known for her roles in Downton Abbey and Tutankhamun, starring alongside Sam Neill, as well as shows including Breathless, The Inbetweeners, The Tudors, and Fresh Meat. In 2017 Catherine will feature in political thriller Fearless and new BBC comedy Bucket. She also has appeared on stage in the West End including Oppenheimer for the RSC, for which she was nominated for a 2016 Laurence Olivier Award.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 368
Erscheinungsdatum 01.05.2019
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4711-6721-8
Verlag Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Maße (L/B/H) 19.8/13.1/2.5 cm
Gewicht 260 g
Verkaufsrang 3177
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 16.90
Fr. 16.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
3 Bewertungen
Übersicht
2
0
1
0
0

Teilweise 08/15
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 09.07.2019

Man soll sich ja vor seinen Wünschen in Acht nehmen, weil sie sich erfüllen könnten. Gleiches gilt sicher auch für manchen großen Fund, den man macht. Zumindest hier, bei diesem Thriller, sorgt der Fund einer Tasche für Entwicklungen, die nicht alle unbeschadet überstehen. Ganz im Gegenteil, denn schon auf den ersten Seiten erfä... Man soll sich ja vor seinen Wünschen in Acht nehmen, weil sie sich erfüllen könnten. Gleiches gilt sicher auch für manchen großen Fund, den man macht. Zumindest hier, bei diesem Thriller, sorgt der Fund einer Tasche für Entwicklungen, die nicht alle unbeschadet überstehen. Ganz im Gegenteil, denn schon auf den ersten Seiten erfährt der Leser, dass die Erzählerin gerade dabei ist ihren Mann zu vergraben. Wie es dazu gekommen ist, erzählt das Buch. Vorab: An sich ist es eine gute, wenn auch nicht neue Idee, mit einer relativ netten Protagonistin/Erzählerin, aber komplett überzeugt hat es mich dennoch nicht. Der Beginn ist, nach dem Prolog, etwas schleppend. Man lernt die Protagonisten kennen und ihre Beziehung zu ihrem Verlobten und späteren Mann Mark aus Erins Sicht. Erin, noch immer nicht ganz von ihrem Jugendtrauma erholt, ist Dokumentarfilmerin und unheimlich in den gutaussehenden Investmentbanker verliebt, doch es bleibt nicht eitel Sonnenschein. Kurz vor der Hochzeit verliert Mark seinen Job und ist sehr unzufrieden. Erin versucht ihr Bestes, um ihn bei Laune zu halten und nebenbei ihrer Arbeit nachzugehen. Dieser Part, bis es endlich in die Flitterwochen nach Bora Bora geht, hat sich viel zu lang gezogen, vor allem auch die erste Klasse Beschreibungen im Flugzeug… Irgendwann einmal finden die beiden endlich „Something in the water“ und damit nimmt das Schicksal seinen Lauf. Erin und Mark versuchen ihren Fund für sich zu nutzen und werden dabei vor große Hürden gestellt. Viele Situationen sind brenzlig, sie könnten beide im Gefängnis landen und darüber hinaus wird möglicherweise von bösen Menschen nach ihnen gesucht. Die Beziehung scheint zu bröckeln und die beiden werden irgendwie immer habgieriger, sodass man – man erinnert sich an den Prolog mit dem Vergraben des Ehemannes – eine ziemlich gute Vorstellung davon hat, was kommen wird. Trotzdem gibt es manche Überraschung, besonders eine davon fand ich an den Haaren herbeigezogen. Der Schreibstil ist – erst einmal in Fahrt gekommen – sehr rund und gut zu lesen, sodass man nach dem etwas holprigen Beginn und trotz aller Kritik das Buch kaum mehr weglegen möchte. Nach dem Ende war ich aber leider nicht richtig überzeugt (ich möchte nicht spoilern, aber ich hatte es genau kommen sehen und das war schon ziemlich schade. Ich hatte auf etwas anderes als 08/15 gehofft…) An sich ist das Buch nicht so schlecht, aber mit etwas Abstand muss man schon festhalten, dass es sehr vorhersehbar ist, manche Wendung zu unglaubwürdig erscheint und es einfach nicht immer logisch ist.

the new must-read psycho thriller
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 26.08.2018
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

At the beginning we get to know that Erin is carving her fresh married husband. Though they were married since at least six month. Then the story starts three month before their marriage. Erin and Marc are a good looking dream couple and they wanted to have children soon. So what changed the situation between them? Is it caused ... At the beginning we get to know that Erin is carving her fresh married husband. Though they were married since at least six month. Then the story starts three month before their marriage. Erin and Marc are a good looking dream couple and they wanted to have children soon. So what changed the situation between them? Is it caused by Erins new film project about prison inmates? Or is it caused by Marcs sudden unemployment as investor. Well, I don't spoil the story if I say that it is caused by Something in the water. Enjoy the wonderfull written diving scenes in Bora Bora.