Warenkorb
 

The Light We Lost

A Novel

Praise for The Light We Lost

“It’s 
the epic love story of 2017 and the ending is one you’ll be feeling for months to come.”—
Redbook

"An irresistible tale of love and second chances."—
People 

“Extraordinary.”—Emily Giffin

“This moving story is a perfect understanding of the sacrifices we make for love and for our dreams.”—
Real Simple

“Your new tearjerker has arrived: Fans of
 Me Before You and 
One Day will love/weep over this elegant novel.”—
New York Post

“This read is
 One Day meets
 Me Before You meets your weekender bag.”—
The Skimm 

“Have your tissues ready...This book will sink its hooks into your heart on page one, and leave you scarred long after you're done.”—
Bustle

“Enchanted and compelled me.”—Delia Ephron, author of 
Siracusa

“A wonderful and heartbreaking book....The kind of heartbreak that’s in 
The Way We Were, that you really love to cry over.”—NBC New York's
Weekend Today


“Heart-wrenching yet beautiful.”—
US Weekly


“A beautiful and devastating story that will captivate readers.”—
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Comparisons will be made to David Nicholls’ 
One Day, but there is something more romantic here—yet also more grounded—that will draw readers in.”—
Booklist

 

“Gorgeously written and absolutely unforgettable, Santopolo’s novel has a beating heart all its own.”—Caroline Leavitt, author of 
Pictures of You


“Santopolo vividly illuminates how our personal lives and loves are changed by the common—and uncommon—events of our troubled world.”—Nancy Thayer, author 
of The Island House


“The perfect beach read: an engrossing, romantic, and surprisingly sexy story about the power of first love.”—
Domino


“Santopolo nailed the thrill and devastation that love can cause...This book made me feel 
everything!”—Renée Carlino, author of 
Before We Were Strangers

“Evocative, raw and at times breathlessly heartbreaking...Santopolo leaves us wondering about serendipity and the existence of that one, true love.”—Karma Brown, author of 
Come Away with Me

“A beautiful, moving meditation on the choices we make in pursuit of love and a meaningful life, and the consequences that shape our futures.”—Bethany Chase, author of 
The One That Got Away


“Filled with light and hope, this is the romance we're all looking for.”—Brenda Bowen, author of 
Enchanted August

“I predict a global tissue shortage.”—Sarah Morgan, author of 
Miracle on 5th Avenue

“A remarkable love story that enthralled me, surprised me, and ultimately, moved me.”—Thomas Christopher Greene, author of 
If I Forget You

“Gracefully and tragically charts the course not only of a genuine and deep love, but also that of our country and of our collective identities. It is memorable and haunting, because it is authentic and so close to home.”—Nick Schifrin, PBS NewsHour Special Correspondent, NPR Correspondent
Rezension
"It's the epic love story of 2017 and the ending is one you'll be feeling for months to come."-Redbook

"An irresistible tale of love and second chances."-People

"Extraordinary."-Emily Giffin

"This moving story is a perfect understanding of the sacrifices we make for love and for our dreams."-Real Simple

"Your new tearjerker has arrived: Fans of Me Before You and One Day will love/weep over this elegant novel."-New York Post

"This read is One Day meets Me Before You meets your weekender bag."-The Skimm

"Have your tissues ready...This book will sink its hooks into your heart on page one, and leave you scarred long after you're done."-Bustle

"Enchanted and compelled me."-Delia Ephron, author of Siracusa

"A wonderful and heartbreaking book....The kind of heartbreak that's in The Way We Were, that you really love to cry over."-NBC New York's Weekend Today

"Heart-wrenching yet beautiful."-US Weekly

"A beautiful and devastating story that will captivate readers."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Comparisons will be made to David Nicholls' One Day, but there is something more romantic here-yet also more grounded-that will draw readers in."-Booklist

"Gorgeously written and absolutely unforgettable, Santopolo's novel has a beating heart all its own."-Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You

"Santopolo vividly illuminates how our personal lives and loves are changed by the common-and uncommon-events of our troubled world."-Nancy Thayer, author of The Island House

"The perfect beach read: an engrossing, romantic, and surprisingly sexy story about the power of first love."-Domino

"Santopolo nailed the thrill and devastation that love can cause...This book made me feel everything!"-Renée Carlino, author of Before We Were Strangers

"Evocative, raw and at times breathlessly heartbreaking...Santopolo leaves us wondering about serendipity and the existence of that one, true love."-Karma Brown, author of Come Away with Me

"A beautiful, moving meditation on the choices we make in pursuit of love and a meaningful life, and the consequences that shape our futures."-Bethany Chase, author of The One That Got Away

"Filled with light and hope, this is the romance we're all looking for."-Brenda Bowen, author of Enchanted August

"I predict a global tissue shortage."-Sarah Morgan, author of Miracle on 5th Avenue

"A remarkable love story that enthralled me, surprised me, and ultimately, moved me."-Thomas Christopher Greene, author of If I Forget You

"Gracefully and tragically charts the course not only of a genuine and deep love, but also that of our country and of our collective identities. It is memorable and haunting, because it is authentic and so close to home."-Nick Schifrin, PBS NewsHour Special Correspondent, NPR Correspondent
Portrait
Jill Santopolo received a BA in English literature from Columbia University and an MFA in writing from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. She's the author of three successful children's and young-adult series and works as the Associate Publisher of Philomel Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers Group. Santopolo travels the world to speak about writing and storytelling. She is the New York Times bestselling author of More Than Words and The Light We Lost, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick. She lives in New York City.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • i
    Sometimes objects seem like they've witnessed history. I used to imagine that the wooden table we sat around during Kramer's Shakespeare seminar our senior year was as old as Columbia-that it had been in that room since 1754, edges worn smooth by centuries of students like us, which of course couldn't be true. But that's how I pictured it. Students sitting there through the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, both World Wars, Korea, Vietnam, the Persian Gulf.

    It's funny, if you asked me who else was with us that day, I don't think I could tell you. I used to be able to see all their faces so clearly, but thirteen years later I remember only you and Professor Kramer. I can't even recall the name of the TA who came running, late, into the classroom. Later, even, than you.

    Kramer had just finished calling roll when you pushed open the door. You smiled at me, your dimple making a brief appearance as you slipped off your Diamondbacks cap and stuck it into your back pocket. Your eyes landed quickly on the empty seat next to mine, and then you did too.

    "And you are?" Kramer asked, as you reached into your backpack for a notebook and a pen.

    "Gabe," you said. "Gabriel Samson."

    Kramer checked the paper in front of him. "Let's aim for 'on time' for the rest of the semester, Mr. Samson," he said. "Class starts at nine. In fact, let's aim for 'early.' "

    You nodded, and Kramer started talking about themes in Julius Caesar.

    " 'We at the height are ready to decline,' " he read. " 'There is a tide in the affairs of men / Which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune; / Omitted, all the voyage of their life / Is bound in shallows and in miseries. / On such a full sea are we now afloat, / And we must take the current when it serves, / Or lose our ventures.' I trust you all did the reading. Who can tell me what Brutus is saying about fate and free will here?"

    I'll always remember that passage because I've wondered so many times since that day whether you and I were fated to meet in Kramer's Shakespeare seminar. Whether it's destiny or decision that has kept us connected all these years. Or a combination of both, taking the current when it serves.

    After Kramer spoke, a few people flipped through the text in front of them. You ran your fingers through your curls, and they sprang back into place.

    "Well," you said, and the rest of the class joined me in looking at you.

    But you didn't get to finish.

    The TA whose name I can't remember came racing into the room. "Sorry I'm late," she said. "A plane hit one of the twin towers. It came on TV just as I was leaving for class."

    No one knew the significance of her words; not even she did.

    "Was the pilot drunk?" Kramer asked.

    "I don't know," the TA said, taking a seat at the table. "I waited, but the newscasters had no idea what was going on. They said it was some kind of prop plane."

    If it had happened now, all of our phones would've been blowing up with news. Pings from Twitter and Facebook and push notifications from the New York Times. But communication then wasn't yet instant and Shakespeare wouldn't be interrupted. We all shrugged it off and Kramer kept talking about Caesar. As I took notes, I watched the fingers of your right hand unconsciously rub against the wood grain of the table. I doodled an image of your thumb with its ragged nail and torn cuticle. I still have the notebook somewhere-in a box filled with Lit Hum and Contemporary Civilizations. I'm sure it's there.

    ii

    I'll never forget what we said when we left Philosophy Hall; even though the words were nothing special, the conversation is burned into my memory as part of that day. We'd started down the steps together. Not exactly together, but next to each other. The air was clear, the sky was blue-and everything had changed. We just didn't know it yet.

    People all around us were talking over one another:

    "The twin towers collapsed!"

    "School's canceled!"

    "
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 368
Erscheinungsdatum 06.02.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7352-1276-3
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20/12.8/2.7 cm
Gewicht 271 g
Verkaufsrang 12026
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 19.90
Fr. 19.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.