Warenkorb
 

Ghosted

A Novel

“Riveting.”

—Cosmopolitan


“Walsh has a good ear for dialogue, and the mystery behind Eddie’s disappearance is a particularly satisfying one.”

--
The New York Times Book Review


“A gripping and surprising romantic suspense story. . . . You won't want to put it down.”


NPR

“I absolutely loved this book and didn’t want it to end.”

—Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of
Big Little Lies

“Fast-paced, eerie, and surprisingly profound. . . Walsh pairs a plot worthy of Ruth Ware with a Bridget Jones–esque cast for a mystery that ends with fireworks.”


Martha Stewart Living

“A beautiful and poignant novel about identity, memory, hope, and the lengths we go to find the ones we love. . . you won't be able to put down.”

--Bustle

“You'll be glued to this heartwarming romance with the pacing of a thriller until its last satisfying page.” 

—Book of the Month

“A cleverly plotted romantic thriller filled with scandalous twists and turns and a juicy central mystery, 
Ghosted proves impossible to put down. . . Deliciously addictive, surprising and sentimental, 
Ghosted is a must-read for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes.”

--BookPage

“Debut author Walsh weaves an intricate story of mystery, deception, grief, and forgiveness that begins slowly and builds steam as the plot twists and turns, and steers clear of predictability. Told through a combination of letters and prose threading in and out of time, this novel will have readers ready to go back and reread it from the start.” 

—Library Journal

“Both a poignant romance and a pulse-pounding mystery!” 

—In Touch Weekly

“Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart. . . a romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.”

—Kirkus Reviews


“A perfectly paced domestic drama centered on two lovely, lonesome people,
Ghosted is a brilliant debut novel that explores the power of fate. Writing like a British cousin of Liane Moriarty or Maria Semple, Walsh has a gift for blending complex characters, intricate backstories, and neck-snapping plot twists.”


Booklist
(starred review)

“This is an ‘accidentally stayed up until 4 a.m. because it's impossible to put down’ kind of novel.” 

--USA Today

“This tale of heartbreak will please readers who enjoy a good twist.” 

—Publishers Weekly

“The perfect book to kick back and relax with.” 

—First for Women

“Stayed up till 2am to finish it! Loved it.”

—Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Keep Her Safe

 

“A delight. Moving and relatable, with characters you'll fall in love with. One for your wish list.”

—Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of Let Me Lie



Ghosted is an intricate puzzle of a novel, beautifully crafted and deeply moving. Rosie Walsh’s depiction of love in all its forms is equal parts heartbreaking and heartwarming; I was engrossed until the final poignant moment.”

--Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

“Gorgeous. Walsh has created such strong characters, and so much warmth. The way she writes about love and longing is just beautiful.”

–Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of
The Sunshine Sisters

“A wonderful love story—achingly sexy, modern, heart-breaking—with the most fantastic twist.”

--Eve Chase, author of
The Wildling Sisters
Rezension
"Riveting."
-Cosmopolitan

"Walsh has a good ear for dialogue, and the mystery behind Eddie's disappearance is a particularly satisfying one."
--The New York Times Book Review

"A gripping and surprising romantic suspense story. . . . You won't want to put it down."
-NPR

"I absolutely loved this book and didn't want it to end."
-Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies

"Fast-paced, eerie, and surprisingly profound. . . Walsh pairs a plot worthy of Ruth Ware with a Bridget Jones-esque cast for a mystery that ends with fireworks."
-Martha Stewart Living

"A beautiful and poignant novel about identity, memory, hope, and the lengths we go to find the ones we love. . . you won't be able to put down."
--Bustle

"You'll be glued to this heartwarming romance with the pacing of a thriller until its last satisfying page."
-Book of the Month

"A cleverly plotted romantic thriller filled with scandalous twists and turns and a juicy central mystery, Ghosted proves impossible to put down. . . Deliciously addictive, surprising and sentimental, Ghosted is a must-read for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes."
--BookPage

"Debut author Walsh weaves an intricate story of mystery, deception, grief, and forgiveness that begins slowly and builds steam as the plot twists and turns, and steers clear of predictability. Told through a combination of letters and prose threading in and out of time, this novel will have readers ready to go back and reread it from the start."
-Library Journal

"Both a poignant romance and a pulse-pounding mystery!"
-In Touch Weekly

"Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart. . . a romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that's perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes."
-Kirkus Reviews

"A perfectly paced domestic drama centered on two lovely, lonesome people, Ghosted is a brilliant debut novel that explores the power of fate. Writing like a British cousin of Liane Moriarty or Maria Semple, Walsh has a gift for blending complex characters, intricate backstories, and neck-snapping plot twists."
-Booklist (starred review)

"This is an 'accidentally stayed up until 4 a.m. because it's impossible to put down' kind of novel."
--USA Today

"This tale of heartbreak will please readers who enjoy a good twist."
-Publishers Weekly

"The perfect book to kick back and relax with."
-First for Women

"Stayed up till 2am to finish it! Loved it."
-Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Keep Her Safe

"A delight. Moving and relatable, with characters you'll fall in love with. One for your wish list."
-Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of Let Me Lie

"Ghosted is an intricate puzzle of a novel, beautifully crafted and deeply moving. Rosie Walsh's depiction of love in all its forms is equal parts heartbreaking and heartwarming; I was engrossed until the final poignant moment."
--Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

"Gorgeous. Walsh has created such strong characters, and so much warmth. The way she writes about love and longing is just beautiful."
-Jane Green, New York Times bestselling author of The Sunshine Sisters

"A wonderful love story-achingly sexy, modern, heart-breaking-with the most fantastic twist."
--Eve Chase, author of The Wildling Sisters
Portrait
Rosie Walsh traveled and lived all over the world, working as a documentary producer, before settling in Bristol, England, where she lives with her partner and son. Ghosted is her American debut.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • This excerpt is from an advance uncorrected copy proof

    Copyright © 2018 Rosie Walsh

    CHAPTER ONE

    Dear You,

    It's exactly nineteen years since that luminous morning when we smiled and said good-bye. That we would see each other again was never in doubt, was it? It was a question of when, not if. In fact, it wasn't even a question. The future might have seemed as insubstantial as the curled edge of a dream, but it unequivocally contained us both. Together.

    And yet it didn't. Even after all these years I find myself stunned by that.

    Nineteen years since that day. Nineteen whole years! And I'm still looking for you. I will never stop looking for you.

    Often you appear when I expect it least. Earlier today I was trapped in some pointless dark thought or other, my body clenched like a metal fist. Then suddenly you were there: a bright autumn leaf cartwheeling over a dull pewter lawn. I uncurled and smelled life, felt dew on my feet, saw shades of green. I tried to grab hold of you, that vivid leaf, cavorting and wriggling and giggling. I tried to take your hand, look straight at you, but like an optical black spot you slid silently sideways, just out of reach.

    I will never stop looking for you.

    CHAPTER TWO

    Day Seven: When We Both Knew

    The grass had become damp. Damp and dark and full of industry. Stretching away toward the blackened ridge of the woods, it quivered with battalions of ants and ponderous snails and tiny, gossamer-spinning spiders. Underneath us, the earth drew to itself a last residue of warmth.

    Eddie, lying next to me, was humming the Star Wars theme tune. His thumb stroked mine. Slowly, gently, like the clouds moving across the fine clip of moon above us. "Let's search for aliens," he'd said earlier, as the violet sky had thickened to purple. We were still there.

    I heard the distant sigh of the last train disappearing into the tunnel farther up the hill and I smiled, remembering when Hannah and I used to camp out here as children. In a small field in this same small valley, hidden from what still felt like a small world.

    At the first sign of summer Hannah would beg our parents to put up the tent.

    Sure, they said. As long as you camp in the garden.

    The garden was flat. It was at the front of our house, overlooked by almost every window. But it was never enough for Hannah, whose spirit of adventure- even though she was five years my junior-had always exceeded mine. She wanted the field. The field straggled up the steep hill behind our house, flattening just enough at the top to fit a tent. It was overlooked by nothing other than the sky. It was speckled with hard Frisbees of cowpat and was so high up you could almost look down our chimney.

    Our parents were not so keen on the field.

    "But I'll be perfectly safe," Hannah would insist, in that bossy little voice. I missed that voice.

    "I'll have Alex with me." Hannah's best friend spent most of her time at our house. "And Sarah. She can protect us if any murderers come."

    As if I were a well-built man with a reliable right hook.

    "And you won't have to make our dinner if we go camping. Or our breakfast . . ."

    Hannah was like a tiny bulldozer-she never ran out of counterarguments-and our parents inevitably gave in. At first they camped in the field with us, but eventually, as I fought on through the knotted jungle of adolescence, they allowed Hannah and Alex to sleep up there alone, with me as bodyguard.

    We would lie in Dad's old festival tent-a lumbering thing made of orange canvas, like a small bungalow-and listen to the symphony of sounds in the grass outside. Often, I'd stay awake long after my little sister and her friend had slackened into sleep, wondering what kind of protection I'd actually be able to offer were someone to burst in. The necessity of protecting Han nah- not just as she slept in this tent, but always-felt like molten rock in my stomach, a volcano barely contained. And yet what would I act
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 352
Erscheinungsdatum 08.05.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-525-55962-7
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 23/15.4/2.9 cm
Gewicht 375 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Fr. 19.90
Fr. 19.90
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
Versandfertig innert 1 - 2 Werktagen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab Fr.  30 i
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.